Nikki Ackerman

Women in Film

7 posts in this topic

Alrighty, here's a something for everyone... Women in Film since this sub-forum is Women in Filmmaking, I thought, 'Why not share the WIF website?' There are different levels of membership, sadly, none of them are free and all require a letter of recommendation from someone in the industry (or a RFTV professor if you're a student or recent grad).

I'm working on my membership, are you?

Hello NIkki,

I am assisting with   film  festival submissions  on a few projects I've had my hands in this year. I am a newbie, any suggestions?

Thank you very much

On 1/22/2018 at 8:14 PM, Okt31 Media Publishing said:

Hello NIkki,

I am assisting with   film  festival submissions  on a few projects I've had my hands in this year. I am a newbie, any suggestions?

Thank you very much

I highly recommend that you take a look at FilmFreeway. There are always festivals there. They have a list of Oscar qualifier festivals if that's what your aim is. You can also filter for specific criteria like festivals with live screenings, or categories like animation. 

There's also Without a Box. Be careful though, a lot of big festivals use both platforms.

Here's a link to an article from MovieMaker magazine on the best fests for your money. Here's another from PremiumBeat.com for up-and-coming filmmakers.

I enter screenwriting competitions because that's what I do.

The best advice I can give is this, research each festival you're considering. Look at the feedback and make sure it's the right fit for your project. Definitely look at SXSW and Fantastic Fest. Look at Sundance for next year. If you use FilmFreeway, they have a watch list feature that you can set up to alert you when deadlines are coming up for any festival on your list. They usually have feedback as well. 

I hope this is helpful!

Any my sincerest apologies for not seeing this earlier. I've been away from my computer all week trying to work on a huge overhaul of a script!